Assessment and Certification

Course Information

Typically, units are one semester in length and may be accredited as:

Tertiary (T) – units prepare students for higher education courses including university entrance.

Accredited (A) – units prepare students for study at institutes of technology and the workforce.

Modified (M) – units provide appropriate educational experiences for students who satisfy specific disability criteria.

Vocational (V) – units provide credit towards further study or training within an industry.

Competency (C) – the units are delivered by Registered Training Organisation (RTO).

Registered (R) – extra-curricular activities including social, artistic, sporting or personal development, including Clubs and Community pastoral care.

Higher Education (H) – year 11 and 12 courses designed and accredited by an Australian higher education provider and where successful completion of the course will be recognised towards an undergraduate degree with that provider.  Usually this is via the ANU or University of Canberra.

External (E) – all externally delivered courses which lead to a nationally recognised vocational qualification (VET Certificate or Statement of Attainment) that is delivered by an external Registered Training Organisation (RTO).

Courses may be studied in these patterns:

Minor :  2 – 3 units completed of a particular course

Major :  3.5 – 5 units completed of a particular course

Major/Minor :  5.5 – 6.5 units completed of a particular course

Double Major :  7 – 8 units completed of a particular course

Note: Not all courses offer Majors, Major/Minor or Double Major combinations.

Certificates issued at the end of Year 12

Senior Secondary Certificate

"A standard package for a Senior Secondary Certificate will be awarded on completion of an educational program approved by the college as having a coherent pattern of study and which includes the equivalent of at least 17 standard units in a period not exceeding five years.  Refer also to Section 8.5 Contribution of Units to Senior Secondary Certificate and Tertiary Entrance Statement. This package must contain a minimum of four A, T, M, H, C or E courses from at least three different course areas.  This must include at least two A, T or M courses.  This will commence for the Year 11 cohort in 2015.

A maximum of 8 standard units from all external (the sum of E + H) courses can contribute to the minimum requirements for a Senior Secondary Certificate."
(Source: ACT BSSS Policy and Procedures Manual 2015, Section

Tertiary Entrance Statement (TES)

"To meet the requirements of a T package and be awarded a Tertiary Entrance Statement, during year 11 and 12 studies a student must complete units that accrue a minimum of:

These studies:

Vocational Certificates

Statement of Attainment and Certificate I, II, III & IV (part of the nationally recognised Australian Qualifications Framework, and are associated with industry-based Training Packages).